History Index

Fremont county is at the top of the Upper Snake River Valley in southeast Idaho. Much of the county is either forest or sagebrush desert. The county seat is St. Anthony. Other communities are Ashton, Box Canyon, Chester, Drummond, Egin, France, Grainville, Heman, Lake, Island Park, Lamont, Last Chance, Mack's Inn, Marysville, Newdale, Parker, Pyke, Squirrel, Teton, Twin Groves, Warm River, and Wilford.

Scenic attractions include the Upper and Lower Mesa Falls, the St. Anthony Sand Dunes, Big Springs, Henry's Fork of the Snake River, and the Island Park Reservoir. The southwest border of Yellowstone National Park is inside Fremont county. The continental divide ends the county on the north side. It has 1,894 square miles.

It was established March 4, 1893, from Bingham county. It was named for John C. Fremont, the explorer, who passed through the area in 1843.

1895 Silver Hammer Article

1976 Teton Dam Flood


Contact State Coordinator at IDGenWeb to contribute to this site, to report broken links or to adopt a county.